John Prine

21 Feb

John Prine

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

One of the most powerful songs I’ve ever heard: Angel from Montgomery by John Prine

It was 1974-5 in a “Tea House” in Bridgeport Connecticut.

A female guitarist was playing and singing the song.

I could not believe my ears.

What does “Make me an Angel, that flies from Montegomery. Make me a poster, from an old rodeo.” mean?

Anyway, the lines below are less cryptic and really dot the (third) i’s:

” How the hell can a person

go to work in the morning,

come home in the evening

and have nothing to say?”

AND

“there’s flies in the kitchen.

I can hear ’em there buzzn’.

And I ain’t done nothin’

Since I woke up today.”

Who can write lines like that and get away with it in plain sight?

It’s the equivalent of sky-writing the next winning lottery numbers over the town and nobody gets it.

Leave a Reply

